Connect with us

Gov. Bello imposes 24-hour curfew on 5 Kogi LGAs


Gov. Bello imposes 24-hour curfew on 5 Kogi LGAs

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi state, on Wednesday, declared a 24-hour curfew on five local government areas in the state.

The five local government areas, according to a statement by the Chief Press Secretary to Bello, Petra Onyegbule, are Adavi, Okene, Ajaokuta, Okehi and Ogori/Magongo in the central senatorial district of the state.

While no reason was given for the imposition of the curfew, it is believed to be connected to the rising spate of violence in the areas affected which has culminated in the burning of a police station, killing of a security man and the recent assassination of a labour leader, AbdulMumuni Yakub.

Quote: “This is a notice of a 24-hour curfew imposed on residents of the 5 Local Government Areas of Central Senatorial District beginning from midnight (already commenced). This curfew will last for 24 hours and it is absolute. No movement whatsoever shall be allowed. All residents of Adavi, Ajaokuta, Okehi, Okene, Ogori/Magongo Local Government Areas are advised to comply by this directive as anyone who runs foul would have themselves to blame. Government regrets every inconvenience this might cause and assures citizens and residents this decision has been taken in the best interest of the state,” the statement read.

Get the Latest Scoops!

Signup now and get important stories in your inbox

We will never give away, trade or sell your email address.

Facebook Comments

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

To Top